日本儿童网

Web Japan 中文首页 > 日本儿童网 > 探索日本 > 日历10月 > 体育节


探索日本

日历


体育节

体育节

(本照片由盖蒂图片社授权使用)

在日本,10月份的第2个星期一是体育节,这是一个国家法定节假日,主要是想通过体育锻炼来培养人们健康的身心。体育节的确立是为了纪念1964年在日本东京举办的奥运会,东京奥运会的时间为10月10日到24日。在奥运会两年后的1966年,体育节被正式确立。直到1999年,体育节都在每年的10月10日举行,但是从2000年开始,被改到了每年10月的第2个星期一。


为什么1964年的奥运会在10月份举行呢,这对于夏季奥运会来说不是太晚了吗?最大的原因是天气,奥运会时的天气必须使热带国家与寒带国家的运动员都能够适应。与当时所有已经举办过奥运会的其他城市相比,东京雨水太多。夏季时天气闷热而潮湿,春季时天气非常不稳定,初秋又是台风的高发期,常伴随着倾盆大雨。


因此东京奥运会的组委会征求了气象学家的意见,何时是举行户外体育活动的最佳时间呢?答案是:10月中旬,因为这个时候台风已经停止登陆,天空清澈而湛蓝。根据这个建议,组委会决定选择一个对于夏季奥运会来说已经相当晚的时间来举办。让组委会备感宽慰的是,奥运会开幕那天,阳光灿烂,万里无云。


从此,每到体育节的时候总会有好天气,因此,许多体育赛事都安排在这一天举行。许多的小学与初中也将它们的运动会安排在这一天。


例如,每年都会有很多的体育赛事在位于东京都文京区的教育之森公园举行。在这里,人们可以在电脑的帮助下,对自己的体力进行检测,还可以从健康顾问那儿得到一些有益于身体健康的提示。这里提供了大量的球类比赛场地,而且在公园的广场上,孩子们可以试一试蹦床或者骑马。

Kids Web Japan

Web Japan > Kids Web Japan > Explore Japan > Calendar 10 > Sports Day


Explore Japan

Calendar


Sports Day

Sports Day

(Photo courtesy of Getty Images)

The second Monday of October is Taiiku no Hi, or Sports Day, a national holiday to foster healthy minds and bodies through physical activity. It was established to commemorate the 1964 Olympic Games in Tokyo, which were held from October 10 to 24. It was designated a national holiday two years later in 1966. Until 1999 the holiday was on October 10, but beginning in 2000 it has been changed to the second Monday of the month.


Why were the 1964 Games held in October, which is quite late for the Summer Games? The biggest reason was the weather. It had to be just right to accommodate athletes from both warm countries and cold countries. And compared to other cities that had hosted the Games of the Olympiad until then, Tokyo was very rainy. The summer months are hot and humid, moreover, while the weather in spring tends to be very unstable. Early autumn is the height of the typhoon season and is marked by heavy downpours.


So the organizers of the Tokyo Games asked meteorologists when would be the best time to hold an outdoor sports event. The answer was mid-October, since by then, the typhoons stop coming, and the skies turn a deep, clear blue. Based on this recommendation, the organizers chose an unusually late date for the Summer Games. Much to the organizers' relief, the Opening Ceremonies were staged under a brilliant, cloudless sky.


Since then Sports Day has generally been blessed with fine weather, and a lot of sporting events are held on this day. It's when many elementary and middle schools schedule their field days.


At the Kyoiku no Mori Park in Tokyo's Bunkyo Ward, for instance, a lot of athletic events are held each year. Visitors can get a computer-aided check of their physical strength and receive health tips from counselors. A number of ball games are organized, and in the park's square kids can try out the trampoline or go horseback riding.