Kids Web Japan

Web Japan > Kids Web Japan > Explore Japan > Regions > Kanto > Characteristics

Explore Japan

Regions of Japan

Q. What special characteristics does the Kanto region have?

Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay


There are 43.3 million people living in the Kanto region, about 34% of the total population of Japan, which comprises Tokyo and the six prefectures of Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Saitama, Chiba, and Kanagawa. In the national capital of Tokyo, many companies, government offices, universities, and other facilities are concentrated.

It is also amply served by cinemas, theaters, department stores, and other establishments of entertainment and consumption. In the center of Tokyo, land prices and rents are extremely high, so even when their jobs or schools are in central Tokyo, many people choose to commute from the suburbs, not only in Tokyo but in the surrounding prefectures of Kanagawa, Chiba, Saitama, and Ibaraki.

An industrial belt has developed along the coastal strip facing Tokyo Bay. Arrayed along it are factories of companies in sectors such as steelmaking, shipbuilding, petroleum, and electronic equipment. Industrial parks have also been set up in inland Kanto. There are also areas of vegetable and fruit cultivation, dairy farming, and pig- and chicken-breeding.