Trend in Japan Web Japan
Science and Technology
Business and Economy Lifestyle Science and Technology Fashion Arts and Entertainment Sports People
Science & Technology
The Exhibits of Global Common Four (March 29, 2005)

Global Common 4 (Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition)
From March 25 to September 25, 2005, the eastern hills of Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture, will play host to the 2005 World Exposition. Including the host nation Japan, some 120 nations, 4 international organizations, and numerous NPOs and NGOs will officially participate in the Expo. Under the theme of "Nature's Wisdom," the first World Exposition of the twenty-first century will explore ways for humankind and nature to enjoy a sustainable coexistence and propose models for global society in the coming age. EXPO 2005 aims to draw 15 million visitors. The official participants will be holding their exhibitions in Global Commons, common areas that group participants together by region and provide both individual and shared space. The six Global Commons are linked by the Global Loop, which will allow visitors to enjoy a virtual walk around the world. A total of 21 countries in Europe will hold their exhibits in Global Common Four.

Symbiosis of Nature and culture
Many of the countries presenting exhibits in Global Common Four aim to explore the Expo's theme of "Nature's Wisdom" by showcasing the natural wonders found in their respective countries and highlighting the links between this nature and the country's culture.

The Swiss pavilion, for example, is modeled on a giant mountain, recreating the Alpine landscape for which Switzerland is famous. The "mountain" contains five transparent bubbles, each housing exhibits on one of five themes: Swiss Myths, Visions, Risks and Caution, Top of Science, and Monte Rosa.

Half of the British pavilion is devoted to a traditional-style woodland garden, which will feature not only plants but also installations by nine leading British artists. The other half of the pavilion will use interactive media to showcase a series of British innovations that draw inspiration from the natural world.

Five countries from Northern Europe will present exhibits at the Nordic Pavilion. The exhibits by Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden will highlight the clean energy and social-welfare societies for which Scandinavia is famous and will also feature spectacular images of the aurora borealis. Visitors will be able to write messages on paper boats and launch them onto a lake built within the pavilion.

Russia's pavilion, meanwhile, will emphasize that country's rich natural resources and pioneering technology, including new energy technology. It will also offer visitors the chance to experience a simulation of a cosmonaut's workstation.

Characteristics of Global Common Four
In addition to Switzerland, Britain, the Nordic countries, and Russia, the other participating countries are Ireland, Ukraine, Austria, the Netherlands, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Poland, Portugal, Lithuania, and Romania, which will each have their own pavilion, and Azerbaijan, Armenia, and Georgia, which will show their exhibits in the Caucasus Pavilion. Located in the southern part of the Nagakute Area, Global Common Four is also home to the EXPO Dome, which will host the opening and closing ceremonies, as well as numerous cultural events.

 Page Top

Copyright (c) 2005 Web Japan. Edited by Japan Echo Inc. based on domestic Japanese news sources. Articles presented here are offered for reference purposes and do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the Japanese Government.

Related articles
(March 18, 2005)

(February 16, 2005)

(February 8, 2005)

(November 18, 2004)

(March 15, 2004)
Drop Us a Line
Your Name

What did you think of this article?

It was interesting.
It was boring.

Send this article to a friend

Go TopTrends in Japan Home

Go BackScience & Technology Home