日本儿童网

Web Japan 中文首页 > 日本儿童网 > 探索日本 > 住房、食品与服装


探索日本

住房、食品与服装


第二次世界大战后,日本有大量的人口从农村进入城市,成为上班族。日本的生活方式也因此而发生了翻天覆地的变化。随着城市在规模和人口上的不断发展,越来越多的人从郊区的住所乘车到市中心的办公室来上班。传统的日本家庭,往往是一家三代或更多的人同住一个屋檐下。而今天,在城市中的日本家庭一般只包括父母和孩子,祖父母则另居别处。


照片

一个带有榻榻米地板的日式房间(Misawa Homes公司)

住房


传统的日本住宅用木制大梁,用木柱支撑。而如今的住宅一般都是有着木地板的西式房屋,用钢柱支撑。此外,在城市中,越来越多的家庭住在大型的、由钢筋混凝土建造的公寓楼内。


与西方住宅相比,日本住宅有两个最大的不同:一是不把鞋子穿到室内;二是至少有一个房间要设计成铺有榻榻米的日式风格。在进入房间之前,要把鞋脱掉,以保持地面的清洁。玄关(genkan)或者入口处,是脱鞋、放鞋和穿鞋的地方。在室内,人们一旦脱掉了鞋子,就要穿上拖鞋。


榻榻米是用灯心草做成的垫子,从大约600年前就开始在日本的住宅中使用。一张榻榻米的大小一般是1.91×0.95米,而房间的大小通常是按榻榻米的数量来计算的。榻榻米冬暖夏凉,对于日本这种潮湿的气候而言,它要比地毯更容易保持干爽。


照片

一顿传统的早餐(日本国际文化交流中心)


照片

天妇罗(Hisago)

食物


“餐”这个字在日语里是“gohan”。实际上,这个词真正的意思是“蒸米饭”,对于日本人来说,米饭是如此的重要,以至于“gohan”一词几乎代表着各种各样的“餐”。一顿传统的日餐包括白米饭连同主菜(鱼或肉)、一些附加菜(通常是经过烹饪的蔬菜)、汤(一般是酱汤)和泡菜。2013年,日本传统的饮食文化“和食”因其表现了尊重自然的日本人的精神,而被收入联合国教科文组织的无形文化遗产名录。


如今的日本人也享用来自世界各地的菜肴,特别是欧洲、北美和亚洲国家的菜肴。除了米饭,日本人也吃面包、面条、意大利面食,并喜爱各种各样的肉类、鱼类、蔬菜和新鲜水果。当然,在国外享有盛名的寿司、天妇罗、锄烧牛锅(sukiyaki)等日本料理在日本国内也很受欢迎。


城市里也有许多快餐店,提供汉堡包和炸鸡。这些快餐食品尤其受到年轻人和儿童的喜爱。 在吃饭前,日本人要说一句“itadakimasu”,这是一句礼貌用语,意思是“开始吃了(直译:我收到了食物)”,以向那些准备食物的人表示感谢。吃完饭,人们还要说一句"gochiso sama deshita",再次表示感谢,其字面意思是“真好吃了(直译:这真是一次盛宴啊)!”


照片

穿和服的小孩子(Mr.Colin Sinclair/JNTO)

服装


日本的传统服装是和服。和服一般由丝绸制成,有大大的袖子,从肩膀一直可以垂到脚后跟。它们是用一种叫做“obi”的宽腰带来打结。现在只有在一些特殊的场合,人们才穿和服,例如在七五三节、婚礼和毕业典礼上。


与西方的服装相比,和服限制了人的活动,而且人们要正确地穿上它也需要花更多的时间。因而,在夏天,有一种更容易穿着的、重量也更轻的夏季和服(yukata)常常成为儿童和年轻人参加节日、焰火及其他特殊场合时穿着的服装。然而,在日常生活中,年轻人更愿意穿着利于到处活动的服装,如T恤、牛仔裤、保罗衫和运动套装等。

Kids Web Japan

Web Japan > Kids Web Japan > Explore Japan > Housing, Food, and Clothes


Explore Japan

Housing, Food, and Clothes


Lifestyles in Japan changed dramatically after World War II, when large numbers of people moved from the countryside to the cities to make their livings as office workers. As cities grew in both size and population, more and more people commuted from their apartments or houses in the suburbs to their workplaces in central areas. While a traditional Japanese household consists of three or more generations of the same family living under one roof, urban households today tend to consist of parents and children, with grandparents living elsewhere.


photo

A Japanese-style room with a tatami floor (Misawa Homes Co.)

Housing


Traditional Japanese homes are made of wood and supported by wooden pillars, but today's homes usually have Western-style rooms with wooden flooring and are often constructed with steel pillars. More and more families in urban areas, moreover, live in large, ferroconcrete apartment buildings.


Two big differences from Western homes are that shoes are not worn inside the house and that at least one room tends to be designed in the Japanese style with a tatami floor. Shoes are taken off when entering a house to keep the floor clean. The genkan, or entrance, serves as a place for removing, storing, and putting on shoes. People tend to put on slippers for indoor use as soon as they have taken off their shoes.


Tatami are mats made of a thick base of rushes and have been used in Japanese homes since about 600 years ago. A single tatami usually measures 1.91 by 0.95 meters, and room sizes are often measured in terms of the number of tatami mats. A tatami floor is cool in the summer and warm in the winter, and remains fresher than carpet during Japan's humid months.


photo

A traditional morning meal (The Japan Forum)


photo

Tempura (Hisago)

Food


The word for "meal" in Japanese is gohan. This word actually refers to steamed rice, but rice is such an important food to the Japanese that gohan has come to mean all sorts of meals. A traditional Japanese meal consists of a serving of plain, white rice, along with a main dish (fish or meat), some kind of side dish (often cooked vegetables), soup (often miso soup), and pickled vegetables. In 2013, traditional Japanese cuisine “Washoku ” was inscribed on the UNESCO's Representative List of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity as it represents the spirit of the Japanese people with their respect for nature.


Japanese today eat many dishes from around the world, notably from Europe, North America, and Asia. In addition to rice, Japanese people eat bread, noodles, and pasta and enjoy a wide array of meats, fishes, vegetables, and fruits. Sushi, tempura, sukiyaki, and other Japanese foods famous abroad are, of course, also popular in Japan.


Cities, in particular, have many fast-food restaurants offering hamburgers and fried chicken, which are especially popular with young people and children.
Before eating, Japanese people say "itadakimasu," a polite phrase meaning "I receive this food." This expresses thanks to whoever worked to prepare the meal. After eating, people again express their thanks by saying "gochiso sama deshita," which literally means “It was quite a feast."


photo

A child wearing a kimono (Mr.Colin Sinclair/JNTO)

Clothes


The traditional dress of Japan is the kimono. Kimonos, which are generally made of silk, have large sleeves and reach from the shoulders all the way down to the heels. They are tied with a wide belt called an obi. Kimonos are now usually worn only on special occasions, such as the Shichi-Go-San festival, weddings, and graduation ceremonies.


Compared to Western dress, the kimono tends to limit one's movement, and it takes more time to put on properly. In the summer, however, a more easily worn, lightweight informal kimono known as a yukata is worn by children and young adults at festivals, fireworks displays, and other special occasions. In everyday life, though, young people tend to prefer clothing that is easier to move around in, like T-shirts, jeans, polo shirts, and sweat suits.