日本儿童网

Web Japan 中文首页 > 日本儿童网 > 探索日本 > 政府


探索日本

政府


照片

国会议事堂(AFLO)


照片

日本议会的全体会议(日本参议院)

日本现行的《日本国宪法》于1947年正式实施,宪法的三个基本原则是:主权在民,尊重基本人权和放弃战争。宪法还规定了三权分立,即立法(议会)、行政(内阁)和司法(法院)的独立。


议会,即日本的国会,是全国最高权力机关,也是唯一的立法机关。议会由480个席位的众议院(下议院)和242个席位的参议院(上议院)组成。日本凡年满20岁的公民都有投票选举的权利。


日本政府的议会制度比较类似于英国和加拿大,与美国或法国不同。日本人并不直接选举总统。议员们在他们中间选举一位首相,由首相组成并领导国家的内阁,最高行政机构——内阁对议会负责。


日本的司法权属于最高法院以及下属各级法院,例如高级法院、地方法院和简易裁判所。最高法院由一名首席法官和14名其他法官组成,他们都由内阁任命。大多数案件由地方法院审理,而简易裁判所主要处理交通违章一类的案件。2009年5月开始实施陪审员制度。这一制度是从20岁以上的公民中,抽签选出6个人,作为陪审员参加地方法院进行审理的刑事案件。


日本有47个都道府县和许多地方政府单位,它们的职责包括提供教育、福利和其他服务,以及建造并维护市政基础设施等公共事业,它们的行政工作使它们与当地民众紧密联系。地区政府的长官以及地方政府的成员均由本地民众通过选举产生。


照片

Kids Web Japan

Web Japan > Kids Web Japan > Explore Japan > Government


Explore Japan

Government


photo

The National Diet Building (AFLO)

Japan's Constitution, which came into force in 1947, is based on three principles: sovereignty of the people, respect for fundamental human rights, and renunciation of war. The Constitution also stipulates the independence of the three branches of government - legislative (the Diet), executive (the cabinet), and judicial (the courts).


photo

A plenary session of the Diet (House of Councillors)

The Diet, Japan's national parliament, is the highest organ of state power and the sole law-making organ of the state. The Diet comprises the 475-seat House of Representatives (lower house) and the 242-seat House of Councillors (upper house). All Japanese citizens can vote in elections once they reach the age of 18.


Japan has a parliamentary system of government like Britain and Canada. Unlike the Americans or the French, the Japanese do not elect a president directly. Diet members elect a prime minister from among themselves. The prime minister forms and leads the cabinet of ministers of state. The cabinet, in the exercise of executive power, is responsible to the Diet.


Judicial power lies with the Supreme Court and lower courts, such as high courts, district courts, and summary courts. The Supreme Court consists of a chief justice and 14 other justices, all of whom are appointed by the cabinet. Most cases are handled by district courts. There are also summary courts, which deal with problems like traffic violations. A lay judge system was introduced in May 2009. Under this system, six adult citizens (20 or over) are chosen at random to act as lay judges in criminal cases tried in district courts.


There are 47 prefectural and numerous municipal governments in Japan. Their responsibilities include providing education, welfare, and other services and building and maintaining infrastructure, including utilities. Their administrative activities bring them into close contact with local people. The heads of regional governments and local assembly members are chosen by local people through elections.


The Three Branches of Government